Kate Heays 
Registered Physiotherapist

Meet Kate, Registered Physiotherapist 👋🏼

 

I’m originally from Ontario and moved out to the west coast after graduating with a Master’s of Science in Physiotherapy at the University of Toronto in 2010. Prior to starting at Bump, I have spent the past 11 years providing physiotherapy treatment to youth, from infants to adolescents. I have treated everything from concussions, to athletic injuries in high level athletes, to oncology rehab, and to helping babies learn to crawl.

 

After the birth of my two daughters, pelvic floor physio helped me to return to the activities that I love and relieved my issues of pelvic pain after a C-section and VBAC.  Throughout the years, my interest in pelvic health has steadily grown as my patients arrived with issues of incontinence and constipation that related to their low back pain, hip pain, core function and more.  Seeking out training in pelvic floor therapy opened the door to conversations with friends and parents about pelvic health. I quickly realized that many of us are not doing what we want to do because of these issues. This motivated me to move into pelvic health.

 

As a therapist, I strive to ensure that my patients can reach the functional goals they choose. This includes looking not just at the pelvis, but the whole person and their journey thus far. I am very passionate about empowering individuals to take care of themselves and do what they want and love.

 

I believe in life long learning and have completed numerous courses in women’s health and orthopaedic courses to further my professional development:

 

  • Level 1 - Physical therapy approach to anyone experiencing urinary incontinence

  • Level 2 - The role of Physical therapy in Pelvic Pain

  • Diastasis Rectus Abdominus and the implications for low back pain and Pelvic Health

  • Soft Tissue Release

  • Concussion rehab

  • Vestibular therapy

  • Neurokinetic Therapy level 1 & 2

  • Level 1 and Level 2 lower extremity manual therapy

 

When not working, I spend my time trying to keep up with my two daughters, husband and dog. You can find us on the local hiking trails, and at the parks. I enjoy playing field hockey, painting, playing the piano (new COVID hobby) and running.

 

I look forward to meeting you and helping you on your journey of doing what you love and reaching your functional goals.

IMG_0579.jpg